ENGLISH HERITAGE
north northumberland
Etal Castle
 Etal Castle
  Discover the bloody history of border warfare
The story of Etal Castle began in 1314 when Robert Manners was granted a licence to fortify his home for protection against Scottish raiders with the addition of curtain walls, corner-towers and a gatehouse.
Etal Castle was thrown into the forefront of national events in 1513 when an army of 30,000 Scots led by James IV invaded England. Etal Castle fell to the Scots but in the bloody battle which ensued on nearby Flodden Hill the invaders were defeated. In 1547 the castle was transferred to Royal ownership.
 
An award-winning exhibition tells the story of the Battle of Flodden and and of the border warfare which existed here until the union of the English and Scottish crowns in 1603. The remains of this early 14th century border castle dominate the picturesque village of Etal.
 
graphicParking in Village
graphicToilets in Village
graphicPicnic Facilities

graphicAward-Winning Exhibition
graphicFree Audio Tour
graphicGift Shop

Award-Winning Exhibition
Award-Winning Exhibition

How to find us:
By Car: In Etal Village 10½m SW of Berwick
By Bus: Border Villager No.267 (Berwick-Wooler)
Telephone: 01670 533128 for further details
By Train: Berwick-upon-Tweed mainline station 10m
Telephone: 01890 820332
Daily opening times (2017):
  1 April - 30 September:
  1 October - 31 October:
  1 November - 29 March 2018:
 10am - 6pm (daily)
 10am - 4pm (daily)
 closed
Note: Last admission 30 minutes before closing time
Admissions (2017 - Gift Aided)
Adult
Concessions
Children under 16
Children under 5
Family Group
£5.50
£5.00
£3.30
Free
£14.30
English Heritage sites to visit in North Northumberland
ENGLISH HERITAGE
north northumberland

© Lindisfarne Links

Places to visit whilst in the area

2009 Experimental Counter